Sitting in the Port-au-Prince airport, waiting for my flight to the States, I’m in a bit of a fog. It’s hard for me to comprehend that this part of my story is over, and another one is about to begin.

The past few weeks have truly been a blur. From school ending to time spent with other missionaries who have become family to soaking in every last bit of Haiti that I possibly can, I feel as though I have prepared myself for my departure as much as I possibly can. I spent a lot of time with the Lord, more so than usual, the past few weeks. I am relying fully on Him through this transitional period.

My students, their families, and I had a wonderful end-of-the-year party on Monday; we had lots of yummy treats, spent quality time together, and the kids read their very own ‘End of the Year Books’ which we had been working on over the past few weeks. Each page was devoted to their ‘favorite thing’ in each subject that we focused on. The families ended the afternoon by thanking me and praying for me; I feel as though it should have been the other way around. The parents of my students truly are beautiful examples of what it means to live by faith, to love the Lord, and to serve His people. The missionary families were examples for me on what it is to be a family in the Lord. The ‘see you later’ (it’s not goodbye, so why say it is?) to them was hard; but I know that there is now a bond between us that won’t be severed, no matter the distance.

I was able to do one last food distribution to the individuals and families of the L14 Ministry. I spent yesterday morning going around Grand Goâve with Bobby, Sylene, and our other friend Fadja, bringing food and talking with each family. I am happy and comforted to know that L14’s work will continue while I am away; it made the ‘see you later’ a little bit easier.

I also spent some time with my love Djanicka. She has grown so much, and her physical and mental capabilities have come so far over the past several months. I can’t wait to see the progress when I see her next.

Thank you all for your love and support these past ten months. I look forward to being in fellowship with you all once again; I will update everyone with my new Stateside number here within the next few days, as well as upload a ‘movie’ that I am currently putting together with video clips that I have taken over the past ten months. So, stay tuned for that.

I am planning to blog a few more times, partially for my own processing, but also to keep you all updated to my transition. I know that I will be with you all soon, but knowing who I am and how I deal with things, I most likely will not be able to vocalize everything that is going on in my head and heart on command. I do better with writing; hence why I started this blog, and why I am leaving Haiti with five journals that have writings on every single page. When we do spend time together, please know that asking me direct questions helps me talk about everything! It helps me stay focused and to the point 🙂

I am so thankful for each and every one of you in my life. Your active role in it has made this past year the beautiful thing that it has been; so, I am forever indebted to you. Love to you all.

Some words from the Lord that accurately and concisely summarize this past year for me:

“Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong. And do everything with love.” 1 Corinthians 16:13-14

Leave a Reply

